Squid Hot Dogs

I have a picky eater, I hate to admit it, but I do. My daughter would be perfectly content with eating hot dogs, chicken nuggets, PB&J, and Panda Express for the rest of her life. But I enjoy trying new foods whether we are at a restaurant or at home. I seen this idea on Pinterest, and thought this would be a great way to get her out of this rut. She calls them Squid Hot Dogs, weird names help kids eat anything. They are the easiest thing to make and they make her happy, which makes me happy.

1. I let her cut the hot dogs herself, using a butter knife, it’s great practice for cordination and she won’t lose any digits this way.

2. “String” the hot dogs with spaghetti noodles that are uncooked, continue until all the hot dogs are done.

3. Put the “squids” into a pot of water. I wait to boil mine until she is all done, because she likes to drop them into the water. Begin to boil. Cook until spaghetti noodles are cooked all the way through. Drain the from the water, or “fish” those little squids out with a fork.

4. Enjoy!

This was the first experiment with something different and the dish that got me started down the path of getting her involved in the kitchen. It has worked wonders and it helps that her dad acts like he is freaked out by them. It led to her loving spaghetti and ball park pasta.

*Disclaimer* each child’s ability in kitchen varies, and I highly recommend you oversee your child while doing the cutting if they have never used a butter knife.

Leave a Reply

